Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/23/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Salary & Wage Resources

Resources for UCF Salaries & Wages

UCF USPS Pay Scale Data (UCF Human Resources)

A Market Wage Study for the University of Central Florida: Final Report, Revised / MGT of America (July 5, 2001) is available in the UCF Library at the Reserve Desk (around the counter from Book Return/Book Checkout) listed under MWS2001. The study compared the pay scales of most USPS classifications with the Central Florida labor market. It provides an update to a 1995 study which is not available in the library.

UCF A&P Pay Scale Data (UCF Human Resources)

UCF Institutional Research Fact Books provide historic data from 1983-84 through 2002-03 in the fiscal information section for average salaries by rank of 9-month and 12-month faculty at UCF.  The College of Arts & Sciences data is provided by Department for all years; the other colleges provide departmental data beginning with 1996-97 information in the Three Year Fact Book for 1994-1997.

UCF Operating Budget - The paper copy of the most recent budget is available in the UCF Library at the Reference Desk and at the Reserve Desk; a CD-ROM version is available in the Florida Documents cabinet. The operating budgets for previous years are available in the Florida Documents Collection at UCF.OB: from 1975 forward. The operating budget includes separate line entries for each employee's salary by position and name in Section III - Details of Salaries. The online versions of UCF Operating Budgets do not include the Details of Salaries section.

2001-2003 Statewide Salary Data [Contact UCF's Ask A Librarian regarding alternative resources.] The files for all employees within the eleven state universities in Florida are no longer available. The salary data was available online through a United Faculty of Florida file of public records data retrieved from the State University System Personnel Employee Records System (SUPERS). The state-wide collective bargaining agreement between the United Faculty of Florida and the Board of Regents/Dept of Education provided UFF with access to the SUPERS database which covered salaries from all universities. With the transition to separate BOTs at each university, there is no longer any statewide data source. The last time it was possible to update the statewide UFF files was spring 2003, so they were eventually pulled. The initial page described the raw data found on the subsequent pages for in-unit (teaching & research faculty, librarians, scholars, scientists, engineers, research associates, coordinators, counselors, advisors, physicians, physician's assistants, etc.) and out-of-unit (executives, administrators, USPS, etc.).

Florida Resources

Classification and Pay Plans (Florida Dept of Management Services) contains the Schedule of Salary Ranges for classes in the Career Service, Selected Exempt Service and Senior Management Service systems.

Teacher Salary, Experience and Degree Level (Florida Dept of Education)

Florida Research & Economic Database (FRED) provides occupational employment and wage estimates by industry based on an annual survey of employers. Wages are available from recent years for about 750 occupations and 400 nonfarm industries for the United States, Florida, Counties, Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Occupational Employment Statistical Regions, and Workforce Development Regions. Wages can be displayed as hourly, weekly, monthly or annual.

Wage Determinations OnLine provides access to Davis-Bacon Act and Service Contract Act wage determinations. The Davis-Bacon Act database identifies prevailing wage rates for construction-related occupations in most counties in the United States. All Federal Government construction contracts and most contracts for federally assisted construction over $2,000 must contain Davis-Bacon wage determinations. The Service Contract Act Database contains unsigned copies of the latest wage determinations setting the minimum wage on federally funded service contracts for most other occupations, e.g., accounting clerk, court reporter, messenger, secretary, test proctor, computer programmer, baker, dishwasher, waiter/waitress, furniture refinisher, janitor, registered nurse, dry cleaner, shipping packer, aircraft mechanic, locksmith, child care attendant, sewage plant operator, firefighter, stevedore, graphic artist, paralegal, unexploded ordnance technician, shuttle bus driver, parking lot attendant, carnival equipment operator, embalmer, lifeguard, etc.

General Resources

Careers Research Guide (UCF Library) identifies print and online resources.

LexisNexis Statistical includes the electronic version of the CIS Statistical Reference Index (SRI), indexing and abstracting salary surveys and statistics contained in publications from more than 1,000 leading sources: associations and institutes, businesses and commercial publishers, state government agencies, research centers, and universities. The UCF Library has the full text of most of these reports in print or microfiche formats.

Career Services & Experiential Learning provides a broad range of career related services including career advising, career planning, mini-classes, job data bank, job fairs, on-campus interviewing, a resume referral program, and a career library.

Occupational Outlook Handbook provides national median earnings information for specific occupations.

JobStar: Job Search Guide provides links to over 300 selected general and professional salary surveys on the Web.

Salary Guides & Guidance: The Riley Guide provides links to salary surveys and guidance for evaluating salary information.

Salary.com provides a Salary Wizard to search for salary ranges by occupation and region.

National Compensation Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) provides data on the occupational wages for selected localities, including several Metropolitan Statistical Areas in Florida.

Wage and Hour Division (U.S. Dept of Labor) provides a wealth of information about issues such as overtime, garnishment, hours worked, and minimum wages (including state-by-state minimums).

Joblines

Position Vacancies (Univ of Central Florida)

Public Service in Florida State Government (State of Florida)

Orange County, Orlando and other local cities and counties frequently have joblines for local government employment.

USAJOBS is the U.S. Government's official site for jobs and employment information provided by the United States Office of Personnel Management.

Although both of the following sites are based in California, they include some job listings for state and local governments from throughout the United States:

Job Listings by Topic

Florida Library Jobline

Library Job Postings on the Internet

Executive Compensation Resources

Hoover's Online - the People section of a company report provides the salaries & bonuses of senior executives, but does not identify stock options - - which sometimes represent the most significant portion of total compensation.

Executive PayWatch (AFL-CIO) presents data about the salaries, bonuses & perks of the CEOs of major corporations from the perspective of highlighting how much more the chief executives make than the general workforce. NOTE: The total compensation reported in this database includes an estimate of the future value of the stock option grants awarded. Be sure to look at the CEO Fact Sheet for the individual CEO for a more detailed description.

EDGAR Database (U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission) - retrieve the DEF 14A form for a specific company. The Definitive Proxy Statement (DEF) usually contains a Compensation section. NOTE: The stock option grants and estimates of future value may appear in a separate section. The SEC also provides Executive Compensation: A Guide for Investors.

SEC Filings - Proxy Statement - LexisNexis Academic provides easy access to the Proxy Statement through the dropdown box on the search form.

What the Boss Makes (1997-2003) and CEO Compensation (2004-  ) from Forbes.com

Executive Compensation & Severance (The Riley Guide) provides other useful links.

Looking for something else? Ask for assistance at the UCF Library's Reference Desk.


Prepared by: Rich Gause, Government Documents Librarian
URL of this page: http://library.ucf.edu/Reference/Guides/salaries.asp

Last update:06/19/09 08:35:29 AM