University of Central Florida Libraries 8/28/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Book Reviews Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Text indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Pegasus or Proxy connection.

Book reviews are descriptive evaluations that usually appear in magazines, journals, or newspapers soon after or up to a few years after a book's publication. A book review is an evaluation of a book, but it should not be confused with literary criticism. A book review discusses the contents of a book; literary criticism examines aspects of a literary work such as themes, symbolism, or characterization. Book reviews may be found in a number of places depending upon the subject matter of the book. Reviews of books for the general reader, or popular books may be found in sources which index general interest periodicals, while reviews of books written on specific subjects may be found in sources which indicate more scholarly, or research, publications.

General Sources

Please note: The following general sources also cover many subject-specific fields.
Full TextAcademic Search Premier(coverage varies)
An interdisciplinary database offering both citations and full text of articles in a variety of publications in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. To search for book reviews, select the phrase "Book review" as a Document Type.
Full TextAlternative Press Index
Index AI 3 .A27 (1969+)
Provides an index to liberal, radical, alternative lifestyle, and "underground" periodicals, most of which are not indexed elsewhere. To find book review citations in the online version: In the Article Type Phrase box, limit to "Book Reviews." In the print version, book review citations were originally listed under that heading in the main body of the index, but now are listed in a separate section.
A growing full-text collection of American magazines and journals published between 1741-1940. APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals, including scholarly, scientific, and popular magazines and journals. Derived from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, the database is a work in progress and does not yet include all the APS content; nonetheless, the database is useful for finding citations to the various journals covered, which the UCF Libraries own on microfilm. To search for book reviews in the database, use the word "Books" with quotation marks.
Top-pick Book Review Digest
Index Z 1219 .C95 (1905+)
Useful for identifying reviews of popular fiction and nonfiction rather than scholarly works. Provides citations to and excerpts of reviews of current juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language. To qualify for inclusion, the book must meet several criteria: published or distributed in the U.S. or Canada; a nonfiction book must receive reviews in two or more periodicals on the Digest selection list; a work of fiction must receive reviews from at least three of the periodicals on the list; reviews must appear within 18 months after the book was published. Generally no more than three or four reviews are excerpted, though a more complete list of review citations is included. The print edition has a subject-title index, which is cumulated annually and in five year cumulations.
Top-pickBook Review Index
Index Z 1035 .A1 B6 (1965+)
Provides access to reviews of books, periodicals, and books-on-tape appearing in more than 600 publications. Arranged alphabetically by author, with a supplementary title index. Helpful in locating reviews of scholarly books.
The online version of Books in Print contains full-text reviews from several publications, including Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, School Library Journal, CHOICE, Kirkus, Reference & Research Book News, Sci-Tech Book News, University Press Book News, Horn Book, Boston Book Review, and Quill and Quire.
An interdisciplinary database of journals, national news magazines, and the New York Times (indexing for the Times is the last six months only). Provides numerous book reviews; in a Keyword search, add the phrase "Book review."
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Index CB 3 .I53 (1960-90)
Formerly a quarterly and later continued as an annual publication, this work indexed about 600 primarily English-language general and scholarly periodicals in the broad field of the "humanities," except for archaeology, religion, and theology. An asterisk before a citation indicates that earlier volumes also reviewed the title. Provides helpful access to publications not generally indexed elsewhere, including some non-English titles. The term "humanities" was originally defined to include history and some social science but beginning with the 1970 volume, the term was restricted to art, biography, personal narratives and memoirs, drama and dance, folklore, language, literature, music, philosophy, travel and adventure.
Full Text LexisNexis Academic(coverage varies)
A full-text database providing access to a broad geographic range of newspapers and journals, mostly published since the 1980s.
To find book reviews: select "Guided News Search," then "General News" (major English-language periodicals) or "U.S. News" (American English-language periodicals) or "World News" (international news sources) or "Foreign Language News" (sources in non-English languages); type "book review" in the Headline, Lead Paragraph(s), Terms box. Especially useful for finding the full text of reviews from the New York Times Book Review.
Provides access to the contents of over 300 popular English-language magazines and journals. To find book reviews, select "Book Review" in the Document Type box. Preceded by the print version, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900+).
Index AI 3 .R48 (1900+)
Currently indexes over 300 popular English-language periodicals. Citations to book reviews are listed in a separate section at the back of each volume. The online version is Readers' Guide Full Text (1983+).

Subject-Specific Sources

Arts and Humanities

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Microfiche PE 71 .M6 (1920-58)
Reference PE 71 .M6 (1964+)
Cites reviews for some books listed, unlike the MLA International Bibliography, which does not include reviews.
In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews."
In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews."
The advanced search mode allows limiting to book reviews.
Click on the Browse Indexes button, then in the "IN:" drop-down box, select "Publication Type Index," click on the Display button, then choose "Review"; then click on the Search button.
In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, Humanities Index (1974+)
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is Humanities Full Text (1983+).
The advanced search, under "Type," allows limiting to reviews.
Music Index
Index ML 118 .M84 (1949+)
Citations to book reviews are listed under that heading in the body of the index.
The Expert search mode allows limiting to "Printed Material Review" under Document Type.
Select "Index," then "Document Type," and then "Book Review"; you must then combine that descriptor with an Anyword, Author, or Subject search.
Limit Document Type to "Review of book."

Business and Law

The guided search mode allows limiting by "Article Type" to book reviews.
Business Periodicals Index
Index HF 5001 .B86 (1958/59+)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed.
Limit Document Type to "Book Review."
EconLit(1969+)
Allows limiting to "Book Review" under Publication Type.
Index K 9 .N75 (1926+)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. Continued by the online version, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text(1981+).
In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print Index to Legal Periodicals and Books(1926-1993/94). version,
LegalTrac(1980+)
Use the phrase "book reviews."

Education

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, Education Index (1929/32+).
Index L 11 .E39 (1929/32+)Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is Education Full Text (1983+).
ERIC(1966+)
In the Publication Type box on the Advanced Search screen, select "Information Analyses-Book/Product Reviews."
In the Document Type box on the Advanced Search screen, select "Book Review."

Science and Engineering

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, Applied Science and Technology Index (1958+).
Index T 1 .I54 (1958+)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is Applied Science Full Text (1983+)
Biological and Agricultural Index
Index QH 301 .B378 (1964/65+)
In the online version: To find book reviews, select "Book Reviews" in the Document Type box; in the print version, book reviews are cited in a separate section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed.
In the Document Type Phrase box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, General Science Index (1978/79-1998/99, 1001/02+).
Index Q 1 .G46 (1978/79-1998/99, 2001/02+)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is General Science Full Text (1983+)
The advanced search mode allows limiting to book reviews.

Social Sciences

Allows limiting to book reviews under Publication Type.
In the Article Type box, select "Book Review."
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
Index HV 6001 .C754 (1975+)
In the online version: The guided search mode allows limiting by "Article Type" to book reviews. In the print version: book reviews are listed under that heading in the Subject Index.
Use the phrase "review article" as a keyword search to limit to book reviews.
Reviews in American History
General Collection E 178 .R49 (1973+)
Each issue presents in-depth reviews of over thirty of the newest books in American history.
In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, Social Sciences Index (1974+).
Index AI 3 .R492 (1974+)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is Social Sciences Full Text (1983+).
Sociological Abstracts (1963+)
Index HM 1 .S67(1953+)
In the online version: Click on the Browse Indexes button, then in the "IN:" drop-down box, select "Publication Type Index," click on the Display button, then choose "Book Review"; then click on the Search button. In the print version: citations to book reviews are listed in a separate section "International Review of Publications in Sociology."
Women Studies Abstracts
Index HQ 1180 .W65 (1972+)
Book review citations are listed in a separate chapter in each issue.

Internet Sources

A metasite that provides direct links to book reviews in a variety of newspapers and journals.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated:July 28, 2008