Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/23/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Comparative/International Education

Section Headings List

See also: Comparative Education Journals | Comparative Education Web Sites | Government Documents for Education | Online Reference Sources for Education

Books- Books. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
PAIS International 1972-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Data Full Text Journals

PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Free Online Databases

Organized by region and country, this is a collection of electronic bibliographic resources and research material on the countries in Africa. Once into a country, select Education.

Access: Free Vendor: Columbia University Libraries

Choose Education from the list of subjects

Covers more than 280 English-language and multilingual periodicals in African studies or that provide consistent coverage of Africa. Attempts to index complete runs of each title, with some titles beginning in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Access: Free Vendor: University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Free electronic database of educational studies in Chinese communities, Hong Kong and Taiwan

Access: Free

Australian education articles online (some of which are free).

Access: Proxy

Provides time series for education data compiled from UNESCO and USAID. It is divided into 3 sections: UNESCO Statistics, Demographic and Health Survey Statistics, and Geographic Region Section.

Access: Free Vendor: USAID

Japan Ministry of Education provides reports, statistics, etc. on education in Japan.

Access: Proxy

Legal Apects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. LexisNexis Academic Research Guide

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Other Resources

Anthropology Plus 1957-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexing of journals in anthropology and related fields.

Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Theory and research in international affairs, publishing a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Columbia University

Covers books, chapters, articles, and conference papers in the field of Latin American studies, Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Access: Free Vendor: Library of Congress

journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Access: Proxy Vendor: HAPI

Search for information on colleges and universities by continent or country.

Access: Free Vendor: Center for International and Development Education, U CA

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Links to statistics, country profiles and publications and reports on education.

Access: Proxy
UNESBIB/UNESDOC 1990-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Contains articles, conferences and reports from UNESCO in education, science, culture, social and human sciences

Access: Free Vendor: UNESCO

CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Social Aspects

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

 

Last Updated October 29, 2008