Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Communication Sciences and Disorders Education

Section Headings List

See also: Communication Science and Disorders Journals | Communication Science and Disorders Websites | Government Documents for Education | Online Reference Sources for Education

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

Top-pick CINAHL 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Legal Apects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. LexisNexis Academic Research Guide

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Indexes articles from communications publications.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities. By Florida DOE.

Access: Free

Information on behavioral measurement instruments gathered from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
OmniFile Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Multi-disciplinary source for citations and full text articles.

Includes the complete content from six Wilson database:

  • Business Index Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • General Science Full Text
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Readers' Guide
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education. By the DOE.

Access: Free

Social Aspects

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

 

Last Updated January 16, 2009