- UCF Government Documents Collection
- Provides links and information about government resources, many of which
are freely accessible via the Web. Includes resources for federal, Florida,
local, cities, counties, regional, other states, foreign/international,
treaties, patents & trademarks, copyright, tax information, elections,
statistics/demographics & census, maps & GIS, genealogy, grants, salaries,
technical reports, standards, climate & weather, citation style guides, and
training.
- GPO Access


- Provides free electronic access to over 2,200 government information
databases such as the Federal Register, Code of Federal
Regulations, U.S. Code, and Government Accounting Office
Reports, over 7,500 individual Federal agency files available for download,
and tools to assist you in finding government information.
- Access: No Restriction
Vendor: U.S. Govt Printing Office
Government Resources
A-Z
-
Ageline
1978-date

- The study of aging in social, psychological,
health-related, and economic contexts. Produced by the American Association of
Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966. Indexes the
SCAN
Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides
approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging
in the late 1970s and early 1980s.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: CSA
-
AGRICOLA (1970-)

- Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural
engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental
pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology,
veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations to journal articles, book
chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
- Also available from:
- USDA
Access: No Restriction
- American Memory
- Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the
United States.
- Access: No Restrictions Vendor::
LOC
- Particular resources of interest include Documents from the Continental
Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789, A Century of
Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates,
1774-1873, and the papers of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and
Abraham Lincoln.
- BNA
Portfolios Plus Library
Current
- Tax analysis, practice tools, primary sources, and news. Includes
full text journals, Internal Revenue codes, cases, and forms.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: BNA
- CCH Internet Tax Research NetWork

- Federal and state tax laws, rules, regulations, cases and forms. Includes full-text
of several well-known CCH products, such as Standard Federal Income Tax
Reporter, Federal Estate/Gift Tax Reporter, and U.S. Master Tax Guide.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: CCH
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs
Online 1991 -
- Theory and research in international affairs, including working papers from university
research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research
projects, and proceedings from conferences, journal issues and books.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: Columbia
University
- Congressional Universe
See LexisNexis Congressional (1789- )


- Access: Proxy
Vendor: Lexis-Nexis
- CQ
Researcher 1991-

- Reports and analysis of the current and controversial issues of the
day.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: CQ
- Davis-Bacon Wage Determination
Database (current)

- Identifies prevailing wage rates for construction-related occupations in most counties
in the United States. All Federal Government construction contracts and most contracts for
federally assisted construction over $2,000 must contain Davis-Bacon wage determinations.
The Service Contract Act Wage
Determination Database contains unsigned copies of the latest wage
determinations setting the minimum wage on federally funded service contracts. Updated
weekly. Ask for assistance at the UCF Library's Reference Desk to be
logged in to the databases.
- Access: In UCF Library Only
Vendor: FedWorld
- Some Wage Rates for
Florida
are freely available on the Florida Department of Transportation's State Construction
Office website.
- DOE Information Bridge

- Includes the full text of over 58,000 DOE-sponsored research and
development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental
sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science,
renewable energy, and other topics.
- Access: No Restriction
Vendor: U.S. Dept of Energy
-
ECO Electronic Collections Online

- Provides full text for over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences,
humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- Access:
Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
- Particular titles of interest include Administration & Society,
American Foreign Policy Interests, American Politics Quarterly,
American Review of Public Administration, Australian Journal of
Politics & History, Comparative Political Studies, Cooperation &
Conflict, Governance, International Affairs,
International Journal of Public Sector Management, International
Studies Quarterly, Journal of Housing Economics, Journal of
Peace Research, Law & Policy, Political Quarterly,
Political Studies, Political Theory, Politics & Society,
Public Administration, Public Productivity & Management Review, and
Scottish Journal of Political Economy.
-
ERIC

1966-
- The most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.
Also see the Eric Document Reproduction Service (EDRS)
and the
ERIC Thesaurus.
- Vendors:
-
ERIC via EBSCOhost

Access: Proxy
-
ERIC via CSA
Access: Proxy
- ERIC via DOE
Access: No
Restriction
-
FactSearch

- The FactSearch Database is a guide to statistical statements on current
social, economic, political, environmental and health issues, derived from
some newspapers, periodicals, newsletter and documents such as the
Christian Science Monitor, the Congressional Record, Congressional
hearings, Daily Press Briefings of the White House, State Department
and Department of Defense, and Australian, British and Canadian
Parliamentary Debates. FactSearch is the FirstSearch implementation
of the A Matter of Fact database produced by Pierian Press, in Ann
Arbor, Michigan.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
-
Florida Documents Index
- Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at
Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents
distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida
Public Documents Depository Program. The UCF Florida Documents Collection
includes many of these same documents.
- Access: No Restriction Vendor:
FCLA/WebLUIS
-
GPO Monthly Catalog 1976-
- References to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates,
documents from executive departments, and more. The UCF Library has the print
for 1941-1996 (U.S. DOCS GP 3.8:).
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: FirstSearch
-
Historical Statistics of the United States
1600-date
- Statistics compiled by the the United States through the census and other
methods covering a wide range of topics such as:
- population, housing, and migration
-
prices, cost of living, and
national income
-
health and medical care
-
education and social conditions
-
environment
-
commerce and trade
-
communications and transportation
Access: Proxy
Vendor: Cambridge
-
ICPSR Data Archive

- The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Data
Archive provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social
science data, including Census enumerations; community & urban studies;
conflict, aggression, violence, wars; economic behavior & attitudes;
education; elites & leadership; geography & environment; government
structures, policies & capabilities; health care & facilities; instructional
packages & computer programs; international systems; legal systems;
legislative & deliberative bodies; mass political behavior & attitudes;
organizational behavior; social indicators; social institutions & behavior;
and ICPSR Publication-Related Archive.
- Access: No Restriction for index; data retrieval
via computer on UCF campus network Vendor: Institute for
Social Research
- Leadership Directories Current

- Current information on the leadership of the United States, including photographs and
biographies of leaders, and staff and agency directory information. Corresponds to
the 14 Yellow Books:
- Congressional
- Federal
- State
- Municipal
- Federal Regional
- Judicial
- Corporate
|
- Financial
- News Media
- Associations
- Law Firms
- Government Affairs
- Foreign Representatives
- Nonprofit Sector
|
- Access: Vendor: LDI
- LexisNexis Academic


- News, business, legal and medical information. Sources include newspapers,
wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law
review journals, and reference works.
Research
Guide
- Access:
Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
- LexisNexis Congressional (1789- )


- Gives researchers access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress,
including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional
testimony from 1988 forward.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: Lexis-Nexis
Note: The supplemental materials for hearings are not included online, but
may be available as paper or microfiche copies in the UCF Library. In addition
to the indexing and abstracting of the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S.
Congress from 1970 forward, LexisNexis Congressional provides the tools for:
- searching Congressional Indexes, 1789-1969, and Indexes to Unpublished
Hearings
- searching the Congressional Record,
- tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor,
- searching the Federal Register,
- searching congressional committee schedules,
- finding members of Congress, and
- searching the National Journal.
- LexisNexis Statistical


- Indexes statistical publications and some full text, including:
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States.
- American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
- Index to International Statistics (IIS)
1983-
- The UCF Library has the full text of some ASI, SRI, and IIS reports in print or microfiche. Tips for Searching.
- Access: Proxy Vendor:
LexisNexis
- MEDLINE


- Contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals in
the medical and dental literature (most with abstracts).
Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine,
experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration,
nutrition, allied health, and veterinary medicine.
- MERLN

- Military Education & Research Library Network offers the combined
resources of the largest and most comprehensive collections of military
information resources in the world by providing access to the library holdings
of the military education libraries in the United States and Europe: Air
University, Armed Forces Staff College, Combined Arms Research, Marine Corps
University, Marshall Center, National Defense University, Naval Postgraduate
School, Naval War College, U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Army War College, U.S.
Coast Guard Academy, U.S. Military Academy, and U.S. Naval Academy.
Access: No Restriction
-
Military Library FullTEXT 1975 -


- News pertaining to all branches of the military. Includes
cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 military titles, trade
publications and newsweeklies. The database also includes full text for 245
pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for over 350 magazines.
- Access:
Vendor: EBSCO
- National Bureau of Economic Research
Working Papers

- Provides the full text of the NBER's Working Papers back to 1994.
Requires the use of
Acrobat Reader
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: NBER
-
National Climatic Data Center

- Provides files for Monthly Climatic Data for the World, Storm Data, Local
Climatological Data, Climatological Data, Hourly Precipitation Data, and
Heating & Cooling Degree Day Data. Select the
Free access by certain agencies and individuals link to obtain
the full reports.
- Access: Proxy
- National Trade Data Bank -- See
STAT-USA
- NCJRS - National Criminal
Justice Research Service 1970-


- An international clearinghouse of criminal justice information, with links
to full text when available. Covers U.S. Federal, State, and local government
documents; books; journals; unpublished research reports from the early 1970s
up to the present. UCF owns the NCJRS microfiche collection, which includes
selected documents from the 1970s to the early 1990s. Use the NCJRS
number to reference the microfiche.
- Access: No Restriction Vendor: NCJRS
-
NTIS
(National Technical Information Service) 1964-date

- Indexes U.S. government-sponsored research and scientific, technical, engineering, and
business-related research reports from Federal sources.
- For 1955-1996, see Government Reports Announcements, Index
Q180.U5 T712.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: CSA
- Official
Documents of the United Nations (ODS) Dates vary

- ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning
in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily
basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly,
Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from
1946 onwards. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales
publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued
by the Department of Public Information.
- See also Foreign & International
Government Resources and the United Nations Treaty
Series.
- Access: No restrictions. Vendor: UN
-
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-
- Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents,
book chapters, and statistical directories about public policy/public affairs.
- The paper version is available in the UCF Library [Index H 1.P8] from 1915
to the present.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: CSA
- Political Risk Yearbook
Online

- Reports giving political and economic risk analysis: finding developing markets,
determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments
about corporate security. Includes social & economic conditions, business climate,
forecasts, trade information & more. Data is updated annually in January.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: PRS Group
- Science Direct
(Elsevier) 1997 - current

- More than 1,100 scientific, technical and medical research journals
published by Elsevier covering science, medicine, technology, and the social sciences.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: Science
Direct
Particular titles of interest in Science Direct include Cities, Electoral
Studies, Food Policy, Journal of Government Information, Land Use Policy,
Political Geography, Resources Policy, and Transport Policy.
-
Social Sciences
Full
Text


- Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics,
geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and
international relations.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
-
Social
Services Abstracts 1980 -date

- Research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social
welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes Social Planning/Policy &
Development Abstracts (SOPODA).
- Access: Card Vendor: CSA
- STAT-USA

- Statistics on the U.S. economy and international trade. Includes daily trade
leads. State of the Nation provides current and historical economic and financial releases
and economic data. GLOBUS & NTDB provide current and historical trade-related
releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and the National
Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
- Access: Vendor: U.S.
Dept of Commerce
- TRIS Online


- The Transportation Research Information Services database provides 400,000
bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books,
journal articles, technical reports and other media; coverage of Federal,
state, local and association publications; coverage of the literature from the
1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years; selected links to
full text or sources of full text; links to the IRRD database for further
coverage of international transportation; searching capability by author,
title, subject.
- Access: No Restriction
Vendor: Transportation Research Board
- United Nations
Treaty Series (UNTS) 1946-

- Over 40,000 treaties treaties and international agreements published by
the Secretariat since 1946. Treaties are presented in their original language,
along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. See also
Other Treaty Resources.
- Access: Proxy Vendor: UN
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers

-
American State Papers
1789-1838
- Primary source material on many aspects of
early American history from 1789 to 1838. Includes Congressional and Executive
Department materials related to: Foreign Relations; Indian Affairs; Finance;
Commerce and Navigation; Military Affairs; Naval Affairs; Post-office
Department; Public Lands; Claims; and Miscellaneous.
-
-
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
1817-1951
- Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S.
Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary
material on all aspects of American history. The Serials Set is projected to
include documents up through 1980 by 2009.
-
- The UCF Libraries owns related congressional sets and information,
including the full Serial Set from 1789 forward. For more information and
related resources see
Federal Legislative Resources.
- Access: Proxy
Vendor: Newsbank
- USA Trade

- Specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000
commodities.
- Access: In Library Only Vendor: U.S.
Census Bureau and STAT-USA
- World News Connection
Late 1990's-

- Full text English-language translations or summaries of newspaper
articles, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, conference
proceedings, and reports. Strong coverage of local media sources. Created by
the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).
- Access: Proxy Vendor: Dialog
-
Worldwide
Political
Science Abstracts 1975 - date

- Citations within the political science
and complementary disciplines, including international relations, law, and public
administration/policy.
-
Access: Proxy
Vendor: CSA
Other
Indexes and Resources
- Government Periodicals


- AULIMP - Air
University Library Index to Military
Periodicals indexes significant articles, news
items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical
periodicals. The electronic index covers 1988+. The UCF Library has the
print indexes in the Government Documents reference shelves [U1.A48] for 1962-1987.
A comprehensive
list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the
Historical Index of AULIMP titles.
- SCAMPI - Staff College
Automated Military Periodicals Index serves as a guide to articles on
military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning,
national and international politics, and other areas researched by JFSC
faculty, staff, and students. The SCAMPI database covers the period from 1996
thru the present.
- STINET MultiSearch
provides a search interface for scientific and technical information over a
wide range of sources, including simultaneous searching of AULIMP and SCAMPI.
- U.S.
Government Periodicals on the Web (Auburn Univ) identifies online access
to indexing and full text, including those titles available through other
databases such as ABI/INFORM, ERIC, Fed in Print, LexisNexis Statistical
Universe, Library Literature, MEDLINE, PsycInfo,
and PAIS.
- Index to U.S. Government Periodicals - available in print format in
the Government Documents reference shelves [JK404.I54] for 1970-1986.
-
Government Periodicals and
Military, Defense & Intelligence Periodicals (University of
Louisville)
Web Indexes for Government Information
- Newspaper Indexes
- Newspaper articles sometimes provide the only widely accessible reference
to government documents - particularly for state or local documents.
-
- Other Document Resources
- Identifies other subject guides and citation style guides for documents.
Older Documents
- Monthly Checklist of State Publications (Library of Congress) identifies
documents issued by State (Alabama, Florida, etc.) agencies. The indexes are
available in print format in the Government Documents reference shelves [JK404.L53] for 1967-1994, and at Microfiche
JK404.L53 for 1910-1966.
- The Government Documents Ready Reference Area has several indexes useful
for verifying older documents, including:
- Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976
- Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States
Government Publications, 1900-1971
- CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969 [The UCF
Library has full text microfiche copies for many of these documents. See
also
LexisNexis Congressional]
- Numerical Lists & Schedule of Volumes / United States Congressional
Serial Set Catalog, 1970-1992 [The UCF Library has full text paper copies
for many of these documents.]
- CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969 [The UCF
Library has full text microfiche copies for many of these documents. See
also
LexisNexis Congressional]
- CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings, 1823-1964. See
also
LexisNexis Congressional]